Need advice on component configeration

Mark M
Mark M Registered Users Posts: 9
Hi, I have a system I am going to set up. The parts are already bought so I just need some help as I am not very technical in solar.

I have 4 KC130Tm 12v panels and 2 100 watt 12v panels, two xantrex c60 charge controllers, and a xantrex 4024 inverter/charger. 4 12v agm batteries and a large transformer to change the 120 to 240 to power my well when the grid is down.

I believe the panels to all be 12v output. The specs on the KC130tms are 21.7 open circuit voltage, and voltage at load of 17.4 so I assume these are 12v. Please correct me if I am wrong.

My goal is to maintain the batteries for water pumping in case of grid failure and use any excess power to heat my basement.

Questions, if the panels are 12 volt and batteries are 12 v and charge controllers are 12/24 volt and inverter/charger is 24 volt. Do I just run 12 v down to the charge/load controller and then out of the batteries run series/parallel to get 24v to supply the inverter?

I also want to use the 2 c60's to keep the batteries charged with one and use the other to dump excess power to a heater to heat basement. Will I need both of these or just one?

If someone can clear this up I would be thankfull.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Need advice on component configeration

Welcome to the forum.

What you're going for is a 24 Volt system. The K130's are "12 Volt" panels, so all you have to do is put two in series to make a "24 Volt" string. Parallel the two strings and you have a 520 Watt "24 Volt" array which can feed through a C60 to a 24 Volt battery bank.

Without knowing the specs on the 100 Watt panels it's impossible to say how well they could be integrated into the system.