Electrician trying to help friend !

I am new to the solar thing and am in need of guidance. Here is what I know.

Les has 30-200W PV panels so thats 6K of potential from the sun.

Those 30 panels are connected to a xantrex solar charge converter.

The charge controller is connected to a 48v DC battery bank.

There is also a 48V windmill connected to the 48v DC battery bank.

The XW6048 Inverter is connected to the battery bank.

The inverters output is connected to a standalone sub-panel in the house which runs a few loads.

the primary 200a breaker panel has a 2p breaker that goes to the inverter. I would say it is a signal line due to it's small gauge and if that breaker is switched off the inverter charged panel stops stops functioning.

the 200a main panel is connected to the power co with a net metering meter.

That is what I know. They have not been selling power due to the inverter not being connected to the main panel to transmit power back thru the meter ? Correct?

I have the operator and install manuals for the XW6048 but they do not say how to connect the inverter to the main panel.

The inverter is connected to the isolated sub panel w 6ga stranded wire.

So do I simply connect the leads from the inverter to the main panel w a breaker and feed the "signal" line with another 2pole breaker?

Sincerly Confused in Pittsburgh

Comments

• THENEXTVETTE
    THENEXTVETTE Registered Users Posts: 14
    Re: Electrician trying to help friend !

I know there are AC in AC Out an Gen connections on the inverter.

I know the books say things about connections, but I need clarification on what hooks where.

Sorry for the confusion. :-)
  • Windsun
    Windsun Solar Expert Posts: 1,164 ✭✭

One problem I see before you even get to the inverter issues is 6000 watts of panel on a Xantrex charge controller. At max possible current, that is around 130 amps @ 48 volts DC, and the controller is only rated at 60 amps max, depending on the controller.