Xantrex/schneider xw 6048 off grid dropping out

I am a solar installer in East TN, and have installed several XW systems in grid-tied/battery backup configuraton, and one (1) XW system that completely off-grid. I received a call from my clients this week because their electricity went out for about 60 seconds, and then came back on. This system has been up and running for about a year, and we have had no issues like this. This morning I received a second call with another reported "outage".

I installed this system last September, and last December, the XW 6048 Inverter "blew up" for no appearent reason at all. XW tech support was baffled as well! I dealt directly with Xantrex to get a replacement unit which took about 2 weeks. The new unit was installed and problem free -until now. My concern is that this until will now need to be replaced as well as these short "outages" will only increase in duration and frequency until the unit completely dies.

Has anyone had any experiences like this with off-grid Xantrew? Is this a software update kind of thing or hardware malfunction? Could this be a result of my clients overtaxing the system (although, I don't think they've ever approached the 6000W capacity of the inverter)?

The system consists of (1) XW 6048 inverter, (2) MPPT 60 SCCs (1) PDP Dist Panel, (24) Deka SOLAR 6V 370Ah batteries [(3) strings of 8] and (30) 225W Yingli Solar modules [(10) strings of 3 into combiner boxes]. SCP, and AGS. System is backed up with a Generac 17kW genny running on propane.

Any thoughts?

Comments

• TnAndy
    TnAndy Solar Expert Posts: 249 ✭✭
    Re: Xantrex/schneider xw 6048 off grid dropping out

Well, neighbor, ( :D ) 60 seconds off, then comes back on, clearly isn't a breaker, which would be the result of an overload.....and given the previous unit died, my best guess is Xantrex has a problem.....which, of course, unfortunately, becomes your problem.

I'd be on the phone to Xantrex talking to them, and hollering about it.