78 cents per watt is it too good to be true

Options
Has anyone purchased from Sun Electronics in Miami? They are advertising Evergreen 225 watt panels for 78 cents per watt. 10% deposit required on a pallet. They expect delivery in 5-6 weeks. They claim to have won the auction of 7MW of panels of Evergreen's assets. I am new to Solar, this order being my first order, and I'm not wanting to get burned. Minimum order was 20 panels, then changed to 1 panel for that price. Deadline to order at that price was midnight tonight, that slipped to the 11th and now the 14th. making me nervous.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: 78 cents per watt is it too good to be true

Yes, Sun Elect is real and, from what I understand, they do have a bunch of happy customers. And like every business, they have a few that are not so happy.

However, it is incumbent on the customer to make sure they understand what is being purchased.

Sun Elect has a wide variety of product, some first grade with warranties and UL/NRTL certs, others are B grade with certs, and others may be off-grade, rejected, other panels (for example, boxes and diodes stripped).

I have never spoken with Sun Elec and never have used any of their products (I am not in the solar business, and my system is grid tied).

You can view older threads on the forum by this Google Search.

-Bill "your mileage may vary" B.

PS: Solar panels can be very expensive to ship... So make sure you understand your total cost delivered to your door step (including shipping and handling). Partial pallets can cost as much (or even more) than full pallets to ship.

This goes for any vendor you order from.
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • jagec
    jagec Solar Expert Posts: 157 ✭✭
    Options