Another newbie here

Options
Hi all,

I've been reading and gotten some good info, but I'm feeling overwhelmed!

-Usage: 2 kWh/day
-Off-grid, generator backup
-Full sun location,
-Latitude: 16 degrees north

-Panels: 3-4 Kyocera 235W (I'm confused about is system sizing. Some calculators say a panel total of ~600W, others 900W)

-Charge controller: Morningstar TriStar45

-Inverter: ExcelTechXP2000 (or Outback2000W)--the inverter site on the wind&sun store is down, and I can't remember which brands are recommended.

-Batteries: Crown 12V renewable energy (12CRP130) 90Ah. Again, not sure about sizing (6-10?).

-Meter: MidNite Solar Battery Capacity meter

-Breakers/disconnects. I'll have to read more about this.

Could someone let me know if I'm on the right track? Thank you!

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Another newbie here
    -Batteries: Crown 12V renewable energy (12CRP130) 90Ah. Again, not sure about sizing (6-10?).

Yow !! NO !!

You want to minimize the number of parallel batteries. Instead of 12V batteries in parallel, look at 2v batteries in series, to get the same capacity.

Another rule of Thumb, is when inverter size is below 1,000w, 12V is OK, but beyond 1,000w, step up to 24V. This reduces the amps the wires need to carry, and increases your system efficency. You do loose the option of 12V appliances though.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,