need advice on a new pump

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
I have been using a piston pump since 1998, which was recently refurbished when the brushes wore out. It lasted 2 weeks, then a spring that held the brushes in gave way and the pump stopped again.

I have a 48v DC system with wind/solar and battery storage (the usual off grid stuff)

I would like to change the pump to a more reliable pump.

water level...... 60-150 ft down, varies by season
top of well to storage tank........ 150 ft elevation
well depth, 340 ft
pump depth, now is 250 but can be any depth to 340
uses: residential, 2 adults, summer gardening
water: clear but with iron content from the basalt/granite

any advice? We are tired of having the pump pulled out all the time lately, and now it is on the fritz again.

Comments

• System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin
    Re: need advice on a new pump

I forgot to mention:

flowrate: well only produces 1.5 GPM, so we have a 4000 gallon storage tank uphill from the house with gravity feed to the house.
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭

So you are looking for a 48VDC pump, low flow, high lift ?
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin