Another new guy with questions

MarkG
MarkG Registered Users Posts: 10
Hello All,

Well, like others here, I am just starting out with a solar setup. I wanted to get people's take on what they think of the following:

Samlex SA-1500-112 12V 1500 Watt DC/AC Pure Sine Wave Inverter
Morningstar Prostar 30M charge controller
2 x Uni-Solar PVL-68T 68 Watt Laminate panels.
I haven't looked at batteries yet.

My questions are:
- Is Samlex a good brand? I was looking at a similar Go Power inverter as well, but it looks like they might actually be using a Samlex unit with their own labeling.

- The Prostar 30M can't control the frequency of battery equalization, and only equalizes up to 15.1 volts. Is this a big deal?

I realize the panels are small and they are not all that powerful, but for now they will do. If I bought the higher output laminate panels they would be too long.

My immediate needs would be having the ability to have emergency lighting (in multiple rooms) and possible run a TV/DVD player during power outages. I know some will say I can get away with a smaller inverter, but I like the ability to run other things as well, as the need arises.

I realize there is a lot to consider when selecting solar components, so any input from people would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Mark

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Another new guy with questions

Here's what I did with a single unisolar 64w panel

My Solar Monolith:

attachment.php?attachmentid=384&stc=1&thumb=1&d=1234752636

attachment.php?attachmentid=385&stc=1&thumb=1&d=1234752653

Update pictures/information here.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||