Battery Price Solution

Is there any kind of 'best' battery solution... that is a battery where price, reliability and amp hours really does lead the competition?

I have heard 6 volt batteries often last longer than 12 volt batteries. Is this correct or just folk lore? My own answer is yes, 6 volt batteries can, when properly maintained, offer the same amperage over more time but I have never seen 6 volt batteries applied in solar applications. The real problem I see using 6 volt over 12 volt batteries is cost.

Also, are AGM batteries that much better than plain acid cell batteries when used in solar installations? My answer is yes again but since I have no direct experience with AGM batteries I can not be sure the literature I have read is correct.

Any comments would be appreciated.

Thanks.

sundownr

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Battery Price Solution

Oh boy... A can'o worms set of questions.

Yes, AGM batteries are about the as close to "perfect" that you can get with Lead Acid Batteries (clean, freeze resistant, more efficient, no water to add, usually do not outgas during normal operation, can be mounted on side, etc.).

And Gel Batteries should not usually be considered for solar pv/deep cycle applications (too easy to damage with high charging currents/voltages).

The downside for AGM is they are, roughly, 2x the cost of flooded cell batteries, may only last 1/2 as long as high end flooded cell batteries.

True deep cycle batteries (with thick plates) tend to last/cycle longer.

Forklift type batteries, can last 15-20 years, but are (typically) less efficient and use more distilled water.