Battery Bank Voltage

Hello All..Super-Newbie Here. Is it possible to use ten 6-volt batteries to make a 24volt battery bank? Only asking because I unfortunately happen to have ten, and a 24v MS4024. I'd hate to not use the other two.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Re: Battery Bank Voltage

Nope.

Some people will make a second, small 12volt battery bank that is charged from the 24/48 volt bank.

Run 12 volt ham gear, led lighting from the second bank.

Of course, you would need to buy a 12 volt battery charger and have additional losses.

Can be done vs does it make sense to do it.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • data_engine
    data_engine Registered Users Posts: 8

I guess the best answer is to buy 2 more batteries.The problem is that I have an off-grid cabin with a generator. I would have to have to run the generator quite a lot to charge an 1100Ah Deka flooded battery bank with a Magnum inverter. Has anyone tried using a 24v forklift type battery charger along with an inverter/charger?
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

I have to ask why you want/need such a big battery bank? That one has a maximum power potential of 13 kW hours. That's a lot of off-grid power.
  • data_engine
    data_engine Registered Users Posts: 8
    I have to ask why you want/need such a big battery bank? That one has a maximum power potential of 13 kW hours. That's a lot of off-grid power.

Because I have them. I was thinking use them or let 'em go dead in their boxes.
  • Blackcherry04
    Blackcherry04 Solar Expert Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭

I have a SW3000 with a 150 amp charger and run a IOTA 55 with it. I usually cut the Inverter charger off when the bulk is finished and let the IOTA do the absorption phase if you ever get that far on a generator. My bank is the same size as yours.
  • TheBackRoads
    TheBackRoads Solar Expert Posts: 274 ✭✭