I get no charge

eddie
eddie Registered Users Posts: 12
Hi to all,

Yes Im a newbie and having issues with my solar panels. I have two panels of 36 cell each cell is .5 vlts. I get 16+ out of each panel. I hook them up in parralel to my charge controller and battery. Once connected my volts drop to 4.5 and I get zero charge info on my controller. The panels do not send out enough volts/amp to charge the batteries. At first I thought I had a bad controller so I purchased a new one with LCD Display. When I connected it I get no readings from the panel. Idisconnect the wirings to check reading direct from the panels and I get 16 plus volts. What could be going wrong? Everything is connectd correct. Why when I hook up the wires to controller I lose voltage from the panels and it would even give me any readings on my charge controller? Any help?

Thanks!:confused:

Comments

• petertearai
    petertearai Solar Expert Posts: 471 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: I get no charge

Are these home made panels?
    2225 wattts pv . Outback 2kw  fxr pure sine inverter . fm80 charge controller . Mate 3. victron battery monitor . 24 volts  in 2 volt Shoto lead carbon extreme batterys. off grid  holiday home 
  • eddie

Yes they are home made..
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

Homemade panels strike again. :roll:

First clue: 36 cells * 0.5 Volts ought to be 18 Volts Voc, not 16. Right there four of the cells seem to be missing from the circuit. Improperly soldered, solder in backward, accidentally skipped or bypassed. Something. Hopefully you haven't sealed them up with goop and can still get at them to check connections.

Disconnect and inspect. Systematically test each cell individually to make sure it is defective (those cells you buy on E-bay are ones discarded by manufacturers as being not up to snuff).

Despite the claims of the Internet hucksters, making your own panels is not easy nor cheap and only fun if you're a masochist.
  • mike95490