grid tie size vs production

bobdog
bobdog Solar Expert Posts: 192 ✭✭
(First can a moderator point me to a discussion on micro vs central inverters? I searched and wasn't successful. thanks)

Now to my topic. I am new to the grid tie side of solar. I am planning on putting in (or having installed) a grid tie system on the house. I've been reading and I can't get a grip on how you figure out from the size of the system (say 5kw) how much you'll get (or should produce) in a day? I get it on the off-grid side of things, with batteries and all but maybe someone could help me here. I saw a previous poster just put a 6kw system in and they were talking about getting 30 kwh a day. How do I figure out what I should be getting from a 5kw system per day? For that matter how do I figure how big of a system I need/should get? Thanks for the help.

Tim

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: grid tie size vs production

Try this Google Search (just click link).

The above is just this search string (with the site:wind-sun.com tag to limit the search to this forum):
    • enphase vs central inverter site:wind-sun.com
    Regarding how much a fixed array may generate. Using PV Watts for Albuquerque NM, 5kW array, 0.77 default derating, fixed array tilted to latitude:
    "Station Identification"
    "City:","Albuquerque"
    "State:","New_Mexico"
    "Lat (deg N):", 35.05
    "Long (deg W):", 106.62
    "Elev (m): ", 1619
    "PV System Specifications"
    "DC Rating:"," 5.0 kW"
    "DC to AC Derate Factor:"," 0.770"
    "AC Rating:"," 3.8 kW"
    "Array Type: Fixed Tilt"
    "Array Tilt:"," 35.0"
    "Array Azimuth:","180.0"

"Energy Specifications"
    "Cost of Electricity:"," 8.7 cents/kWh"

"Results"
    "Month", "Solar Radiation (kWh/m^2/day)", "AC Energy (kWh)", "Energy Value ($)"
    1, 5.33, 631, 54.90
    2, 6.06, 632, 54.98
    3, 6.44, 742, 64.55
    4, 7.16, 764, 66.47
    5, 7.40, 792, 68.90
    6, 7.10, 716, 62.29