where to buy DC wire?

rollandelliott
rollandelliott Solar Expert Posts: 834 ✭✭
This is a total newbie question. I bought some panels, but the supplier forgot to ship the wire.

I know I can't use romex, does Lowes/H.Depot sell DC wire? if not recommendations?

I need about 125 feet x 2 strings of panels = 250 feet of 14 AWG UF or THW wire
and ten feet of 10 AWG cable

Thanks!

Comments

• Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭
    Re: where to buy DC wire?

unless its sunlight / wet rated it has to be in conduit ( THWN )

What I have done is bought 100ft lengths with the MC4 installed, you can also buy extra MC4 and the crimper to make your own
  • rollandelliott

cool where would I buy that at?
  • Vic
    Vic Solar Expert Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭✭

The generous sponsor of this site, N. AZ Wind & Sun, sells MC4 extension cables:
    http://www.solar-electric.com/incaforsoelp.html

This link is the more general wire master page:
    http://www.solar-electric.com/hardware---wire.html

I did have a local whosale electrical distributor order some USE-2 (with sunlight resistant rating)/XLP/ something else. At the time is was less expensive than that same distributor's price for standard THHN/THWN-2/MTW/AMW or whatever. It took about 10 days for it to be delivered.

Crimpers specifically for MC4 connectors CAN cost about $600 or so. The extension cables are a very good solution.

Vic
    Off Grid - Two systems -- 4 SW+ 5548 Inverters, Surrette 4KS25 1280 AH X2@48V, 11.1 KW STC PV, 4X MidNite Classic 150 w/ WBjrs, Beta KID on S-530s, MX-60s, MN Bkrs/Boxes.  25 KVA Polyphase Kubota diesel,  Honda Eu6500isa,  Eu3000is-es, Eu2000,  Eu1000 gensets.  Thanks Wind-Sun for this great Forum.
  • SCharles
    SCharles Solar Expert Posts: 123 ✭✭