Adding 1.44kW to current 2.94kW system (Questions)

Spiffster
Spiffster Registered Users Posts: 23
I am looking into upgrading our current 2.94kW system that was installed by REC Solar in Littleton, CO and I have a few questions. My current system is composed of 14 210watt Kyocera panels (KD-210GX-LPU) on a roof facing east with a SMA 4000US inverter. My garage's roof runs perpendicular to the house and has a south facing roof that has an available area of 20'x10'. Enough room for 6 Kyocera KD-240GX-LPB panels in landscape orientation (2 rows of 3). I plan to use the new Enphase M215 inverters.

Now to the questions: Considering that the house already has a PV system installed what equipment will I need to order to complete the upgrade besides the 6 panels and the 6 inverters w/ the AC branch install kit? Not sure what I would need as far as mounting equipment goes at all...

How hard would it be for me to do the install myself as I have no experience with this stuff at all?

Should I just have REC Solar do the upgrade? If so, any ideas how much could I expect to pay for just the installation?

Thanks!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Adding 1.44kW to current 2.94kW system (Questions)

You have to have room for a second 240 vac double pole breaker in your main panel--and your pane has to be large enough to manage the extra current from the new array (main panel cannot have more than 20% worth of circuit breakers from solar array--I.e., 20% of 200 amp panel means 40 amps maximum of solar array--I.e,, 2x 20 amp breaker pairs=40 amps).

Cost wise, seen recent pricing on the forum from $5 to $8 per Watt of solar power installed, before rebates. Given that yours is a "smaller system", they may charge $8+ per watt to install (I am not in the solar biz--just some starting points for planning).