Adding 1.44kW to current 2.94kW system (Questions)

2»

Comments

• solar_dave
    solar_dave Solar Expert Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Adding 1.44kW to current 2.94kW system (Questions)
    Spiffster wrote: »
    I think what they didnt understand was that the feedback from the solar system puts a load on the bus bar. They couldnt get their heads around how the main breaker de-rate gives me more capacity to add solar. They are stuck on the whole, smaller breaker = less capacity logic. Im no pro so perhaps I didnt explain it well. (especially since this concept is new to me too). I think I may have found 1 electrician that is willing to work with / learn more about this solar energy stuff. He just followed up with me this morning so hopefully it works out.

Just tell them you are sourcing power from 2 locations, the solar and the grid. And to prevent the grid + solar from overloading the bus bar, you need a derate on the grid side breaker.
  • ggunn
    ggunn Solar Expert Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭
    solar_dave wrote: »
    Just tell them you are sourcing power from 2 locations, the solar and the grid. And to prevent the grid + solar from overloading the bus bar, you need a derate on the grid side breaker.

You really shouldn't have to explain this to a licensed electrician; just tell him to read NEC Article 690.64(B)(2). It's in there.
  • Spiffster
    Spiffster Registered Users Posts: 23

So this electrician seems to know what he is talking about, though his equation doesnt make a whole lot of sense to me. Here is what he said in an email:

"You have a two inverters, one requiring a 30 amp on each buss, and one requiring a 20 amp on each buss. You do not have any other protection except the main breaker so the only rating we can use is the 150 amp main. We meet the requirements of 690.8 (PV breaker must be at opposite end of panel from main feeders) which qualifies us for the 120% allowance. Then to follow the requirements of NEC 690.64(B)(2) would look like this.