Absolute Newbie question about batteries

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hi All,

I am definitely a newbie when it comes to this stuff. I currently have one 30watt panel, a 240 amp hour battery, 12 volt 30 amp charge controller, and a 400 watt inverter. I am using this to power my outdoor lighting for the summer. Currently, I am powering six lights and they last for about 6 hours with my current battery. Everything is working as planned.

I want to add another battery in order to add some more lighting. The timeline of 6 hours is fine. My question is how do I wire the batteries. I believe from my research that it is simply a matter of wiring them in parallel, (positive to positive, negative to negative), but I wanted to be sure I understood correctly before I attempted this. I also wanted to make sure that my charge controller and inverter would not be impacted.

Any guidance would be very much appreciated.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,591 admin
    Re: Absolute Newbie question about batteries

You are correct... Adding batteries in parallel adds "Amp*Hours" to the storage capacity of your bank.

If you added batteries in series--it would increase the voltage of your bank and you would need a new inverter to work at the higher voltage (i.e., two 12 volt batteries in series equals 24 volt bank).

Adding batteries either way will add storage capacity--but adding in series causes you to (usually) buy new equipment to operate at the higher voltage.

Back to your system... a 30 watt panel on a 12 volt 240 AH battery.

Adding battery storage/capacity is probably not your issue right now--Not having enough solar panel for charging is going to be a problem.

Normally, we recommend around 5% to 13% rate of charge for a battery bank, assuming 0.77 derating for solar charger and panels:
    • 240 AH * 12 volts * 1/0.77 derating * 0.05 rate of charge = 187 watts minimum