HELP NEEDED !!

My system is as follows

Xw xantrex 4024
xantrex control panel
2 * wind turbines
4 * solar panels
2 * charge controllers
8 * trojan 6v 230 amp/h batteries

i am new to this so sorry if i sound a bit stupid, i want to program my system for the following

primary power to load comes from wind and solar
secondary power to load comes from grid when wind and solar are not present or not enough ittops up.

my batteries i want to keep for emergencies (grid failure)

is this possible with my inverter and how do i setup, at the moment my system costantly charges the batteries from grid and only inverts solar / wind when i disconnect from the grid via the circuit breaker.

I have included a picture off my installation

any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Xw Xantrex 4024

Paul,

Welcome to the Forum.

Looking at your picture (beautiful location), you appear to have shadows from your wind turbine towers going across your solar array. In general, that is a huge problem with solar PV panels--It can really kill the output of the array (50% or more loss in output--depending on size of shadows, where they fall on the array, how the panels are wired, what type of charge controller you are using, etc.).

You need to have the panels clear of any shading from 9am to 3pm (at least/ideally).

First, depending on your total charging sources and surge current on the inverter--the 546 AH 24 volt battery bank is bit on the small side... If you are looking at running the inverter to 4kW (8kW surge)l, you should be looking at a minimum of 800 AH @ 24 volt battery bank. One possible error is a F49 bank over voltage error (If your wind turbines are in the 4kW+ size range--it is possible their variable output energy can cause an F49 fault too with a smaller battery bank--my guess):

Xantrex XW6048 - fault F49 - DC over voltage

And here is a thread that may help you with programming the XW: