The Argument for Enphase Micro Converters

RacerChris
RacerChris Registered Users Posts: 15
Hi all,

Just joined the Forum and signed a Contract to install a Solar PV System at our home in Fremont, Ca. Excited about starting our on Power Generating Plant :-) and doing our part to fight dependence on oil! :D

Being a Structural Engineer, I find the whole process quite interesting and learning alot thanks to this and other sites.

At this time, our PV system will consist of 27 SunPower 230W Panels with Enphase M210 micro-inverters. Although, I signed a contract for this install, I have about a week to make the final Inverter decision. Curious what those in-the-know thinks about whether the $2000 premium for Micro Inverters is a good decison for our site and situation.

Our location has a large 4:12 sloped roof that points southwest and gets good sun most of the day with only minor shading issues. The installer took sun measurements and has guaranteed in writing at least 8808 kwH annual production with micro-inverters and 8402 with a SunPower 5000 inverter. In additon, they warrant the components for 15 years.

According to my installer the advantages of micro-inverters includes:
- Per module tracking, making the system more efficient
- Maximizes system output, Optimizes MPPT
- Mean Life Expectancy of 120-330 years.
- Best monitoring system on the market included
- Easier to expand solar in the future
- Less power loss if any panels are shaded
- If micro inverter fails, only one panel goes down
- Inverters run cooler
- Better low-light production
- Easy return.replacement policy
- Competitive in ost per watt-hour

They also list the disadvantages as:
- Newer Product: Spring 2008
- Cost of monitoring $2/year per panel after 2 years
- Many potential points of failure
- More expensive per watt (not necessarily per watt-hour)