Review me

nightowltech
nightowltech Registered Users Posts: 5
Don't know why I have not done this sooner but I am finally going to do it, I'm trying to getting off the grid. I am still very new at knowing what would be required but after last nights crash course in Solar Panel setups, I have come down to this as a starting kit I would like to invest but would like this communities input as to any factor I might not be considering. Mind you this is just to start I feel I may need more batteries and panels but would like to make sure that I am on the right track for expansion later.

I would eventually like to be completely off the grid and possibly sell some back to them for a change. I would like to know what would be a comfortable amount of panels and batteries for doing so? I was hopping for about 5000 Watts total output for my home. I think that would be comfortable? 3600 Watts now should be fine to start.

I have read that I should look for a sign wave inverter so that there is not much of a power problem with some devices like computers or hardware with variable speed knobs. Is the inverter I selected enough for that or would it be better to invest in a inverter that is labeled as "sign wave?" I thought that maybe if I ran some big capacitors in series it would help with power fluctuations?

Usage on the grid average: • Use: 23.33 kWh per day or 700kWh Month
Monthly Bill: $80 winter time and $120 summer time = $100 Per month Average.

Solar Panels. :
Kyocer Panel $550 235 Watts X2 $1100.00 making 470 watts

*Question: I was thinking because of cost just starting with one... but If I can afford it I would like to buy both. Is one enough?:confused:

Controller:
Outback MATE
$216.00

*Question: Best choice for me as I only plan on spending a total of $3800 on the whole setup. I may be able to squeezes a little more but not sure. It goes well with the current batteries and Inverter setup as it is also a Outback.

Batteries :
Surrette S460