Remote Island Solar System

larrybc1
larrybc1 Solar Expert Posts: 44
Hi.. I am NEW to solar and wind..but here is what I have..
I have a small beach resort in the Philippines that is off the grid..I currently use a 15 KW diesel gen to power the place and I use 3-4 gals of Diesel per day at $4 a gallon..so i want to go to Solar and wind--get a strong seabreeze everday..So here are my power requirements. I use about 7,000 to 8,000 watts per day..Everything there is 220V..My question is how many solar panels do i need and what kind of batteries and how many batteries..also charge controller, inverter etc would I need..Any HELP would be greatly appreciated as I need to evaluate if this is economically feasible..Thanks Larry

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Remote Island Solar System

Welcome to the Forum Larry,

First question, is the 7,000-8,000 Watts per day actually 7,000-8,000 Watt*Hours per day?

The options, as I see them are:
    1. Use a smaller genset to power minimum loads 18 hours per day, use your 15kW genest 6 hours per day to power heavy loads (typically evening time).
    2. Install a battery bank + AC Inverter to run low power 18 hours per day and use existing genset to recharge ~6 hours per day (aim to run genset at a minimum of 50-60% rated output load for good fuel efficiency and long life--Genset operated at less than 50-40% rated output tend to waste fuel, and have shorter life between service/overhauls).
    3. As #2, but install solar panels and DC Solar Charge Controllers to assist charging batteries during the day. Add panels as personal financing permits.
    4. As #3, but install larger battery bank and full complement of solar panels to support ~9 months without having to use the genset (use genset during bad weather/low sun conditions).
    Anyway, do you have a good source for equivalent hours of sun per day (or kWH per square meter per day by month/season) for your area?