basic question about inverter configuration

samitrix
samitrix Registered Users Posts: 20
hi,

konnichiwa from Japan! im a newbie here and this is my first post! i haven't seen forums on RE so im very pleased to be here.

i have a big interest in off grid solar projects but i lack knowledge so i would be very happy if you experts can point me in the right direction :D

my first question is regarding inverter configuration in a very basic solar home system. precisely, why the standard configuration is the connect inverter directly to the battery?? we tried connecting inverter to charge controller which links the solar panel and battery and its working fine. is this a big NO NO design?
Our system component has: 1 x 125W solar panel + 100Ah deep cycle battery + 10A charge controller. system voltage 12V.

i would really appreciate your input.
sam

Comments

• dwh
    dwh Solar Expert Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭
    Re: basic question about inverter configuration

Konnichiwa,

Hope you are well there in Japan.

Yes, you need the battery in case the inverter needs to draw more than the charge controller can supply.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,432 admin

All our prayers to you, your family, and country.

Solar panels have a fairly wide output voltage range.

A typical "12 volt" solar panel can range from 10.5 volts (typical AC inverter cutoff voltage) to ~21 volts or a bit higher... Many inverters will turn off around 15-16 volts on their DC input to prevent damage.

In the end, most AC loads are constant power devices (computers, TV's, tools, pumps, etc.) and the Sun is a variable energy source. And having the AC power turn on and off (due to sunlight/clouds/etc.) is not usually a good thing for those devices.

You either have to have an Extra Large solar PV panel / array to run a given load. Or, you use a battery to store the variable power from the solar array, and feed the energy (as needed) to the AC loads.