unique solar application

Options
C Keith
C Keith Registered Users Posts: 7
First off I am totally new to solar. I want to run something past you people who have done solar for a long time.

i want to run an electric water heating element for as many hours a day as the sun allows. Possibly a 1500w 120v element , but we are open to other options. I am preheating hotwater for my domestic hot water. I don't really require storage of any power at this time. I possibly have a lead on 2kw worth of solar cells (to be assembled and installed by me).

Any thoughts on this crazy arrangement?

I haven't yet really thought out what to do in case I get enough hot water and have to go to a dump load .

(I realize a solar water heater is a more practical way to do this. I'm an electrician - not a plumber .... LOL )

Comments

• russ
    russ Solar Expert Posts: 593 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: unique solar application

It will cost you far, far more and be more complex to use solar PV for hot water.

Plumbing is simple compared to your trade. You really have to know three things - 1) hot is on the left, 2) cold on the right and 3) s**t don't run uphill.

I really suggest you look at solar thermal for hot water - far more efficient. At a bare minimum it is twice as efficient (in a cold climate) and in many locations much more.

Russ
  • petertearai
    petertearai Solar Expert Posts: 471 ✭✭✭✭
    Options

"Watt power crisis" in newzealand were selling such a thing .They may be able to advise on the economics. With the cost of pv coming down and the simplicity of it, I think not such a bad idea.
    Regards Peter
    2225 wattts pv . Outback 2kw  fxr pure sine inverter . fm80 charge controller . Mate 3. victron battery monitor . 24 volts  in 2 volt Shoto lead carbon extreme batterys. off grid  holiday home 
  • arkieoscar
    arkieoscar Solar Expert Posts: 101 ✭✭
    Options
    I haven't yet really thought out what to do in case I get enough hot water and have to go to a dump load .