New to business- Residential Solar design PE required

I am in the process of setting up my own solar installation business in California. I wanted to see if I could design the grid-tied system(single-line diagram etc). Does it require a Electrical PE license? I read that the mechanical part(for racking loads) will require mech PE but I operate in northern california and the systems will be roof mounted.

How do other installers tackle this design issue? Do you sub-contract this out?
I think bigger installers have in-house electrical PEs.

I have a master's degree in electrical engg but not a licensed PE so its a little frustrating not able to design it even though I understand the details.

Please help.... Any sugesstions welcome.

Comments

• Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭
    Re: New to business- Residential Solar design PE required

In general, when one is a paid general contractor you must be hire people for every trade used in your business if you as the GC are not so qualified.

You'll need a general contractors license, those require you have years of verifiable experience as a general contractor and require a bond posting. For all the specific trades that your project require, they will need there own certifications. PE for mechanical, Master Electrician for Electrical and what ever else the local or state building department or agency's should require.

Having a masters in Engineering means nothing in regards to being a for hire general contractor, that's just a piece of paper saying you went to school. The State licenses are what do matter and its a long road to obtain them, all require substantial amount of journeyman time, meaning actual in the field experience on top of academic training
  • ggunn
    ggunn Solar Expert Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭
    damialok wrote: »