UGE 4KW Vertical Axis Wind Turbine

MaineOFFGRID
MaineOFFGRID Registered Users Posts: 12
Hey has anyone use this Vertical wind turbine? Im currently outfitting my OFFGRID home and im thinking about installing 1 of these on the roof to start. My avg windspeed is between 7-8m/s...

If anyone has used this model or can give me any insight about vertical turbines or maybe where to find more efficient ones im all ears...

So I plan to mount that on the house then hook it up to the Xantex xw with the 6000w inverter/charger then get a auto generator starter just for backup... how big of a battery bank am i going to need? and what types of battery's are the best? im new to this got the idea but i want input from the pros.

heres the link to the xantrex base im ordering http://store.oynot.com/xaxw48vin1.html

eventually im going to order a pallet of sanyo hitpanels the 215 or 220s my goal is to pretty much never have to fire the generator up and run 100% offgrid using wind/solar power.

i need input please chime in let me know what you guys think!!

-Bob

Comments

• MaineOFFGRID
    UGE 4KW Vertical Axis Wind Turbine

http://www.urbangreenenergy.com/turbines.php?id=4

heres the wind turbine
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: UGE 4KW Vertical Axis Wind Turbine

Here was this short thread about the UGE--No direct information:

Does this forum cover wind energy?

My two cents--Don't mount the turbine to your home. It will be noisy and possibly structurally unsafe from the wind loads and vibration.

Any wind turbine needs lots of wind--siting is critical and they need to be on 30-60 foot+ tower, 300-500 feet away and 30' above any obstructions.