smart solar battery charger

Options
mattbatson
mattbatson Registered Users Posts: 22
Beginner here...

so here is what I'm looking for...

I want a solar charger that I can use to charge 12 volt car batteries, 6 volt batteries, even connect to my eneloop battery charger so I can charge my AA's.

I want it to be a smart charger, one that can condition, refresh, etc...

It needs to be portable. I need to be able to move it to the tool shed where the riding mower sits so I can charge the battery, or the driveway for the sports car that only gets driven once a week or so, etc...

I dont want to have to buy twice after making a bad purchase the first time, which is why I'm asking on here. I dont mind paying more for quality either.

thx

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options
    Re: smart solar battery charger

Hmmm... Wide range of needs.

Would a "central" solar array + storage battery as the energy source--then plugging in the other items to charge as needed (day or night, good weather or bad) going to work for you?

Or is this a minimalist thing and you want 1 portable solar panel of some sort and a small/portable/flexible charger that can be taken on hikes/etc. for on the spot recharging?

In general, I think a central power station (solar panel + charge controller + battery bank) that can supply power to (either 12 VDC or 120 VAC) day or night is a better solution for a fixed installation.

Portable solutions--solar panels are big/heavy/and don't really generate much power. For short term camping--picking devices with long battery life and common cells (AA, or lithium AA/C123A/etc.) type cells and skipping the solar panel may be a better solution (portable system pretty much requires the system to be fixed during daylight to recharge your batteries--may limit your ability to travel if you need 1-2 days for a small array to recharge your batteries.

Anyway--your needs?

-Bill