Battery Additives?

BilljustBill
BilljustBill Solar Expert Posts: 219 ✭✭✭
I've seen some additive products that say they help batteries.

What do they do?

Bill
Bill

Comments

• Vic
    Vic Solar Expert Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Battery Additives?

Bill,

I've never used any of these. And primarily the main thing thay they do is to separate the buyer from some cash.

Here is what Surrette Battery says. It is the last paragraph -- all the way to the bottom of this Bulletin:
    http://www.rollsbattery.com/content/preventive-maintenance-charging-and-equalization-605

There is a slight ambiguity in the way it is written, but I read "these addatives" to mean both of them. Again I have no experience.

Good Luck. Vic
    Off Grid - Two systems -- 4 SW+ 5548 Inverters, Surrette 4KS25 1280 AH X2@48V, 11.1 KW STC PV, 4X MidNite Classic 150 w/ WBjrs, Beta KID on S-530s, MX-60s, MN Bkrs/Boxes.  25 KVA Polyphase Kubota diesel,  Honda Eu6500isa,  Eu3000is-es, Eu2000,  Eu1000 gensets.  Thanks Wind-Sun for this great Forum.
  • icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭

Lighten your bank account?

tony
  • john p
    john p Solar Expert Posts: 814 ✭✭✭

ITS just not that easy to say if they work well or not,, You cant just make blanket statements saying yes or no There are thousands of people that swear by them saying they really do work there are just as many others that say that using additives does nothing
    I have never found anyone that says using additives damages a battery.

Its very difficult to ever do an exact side by side comparison showing they work or not.
    If you can get the additives cheap then why not use them? as what is there to lose?
    There are some battery sellers that will even extend the warranty of the battery if you use the additive they sell.
  • SCharles
    SCharles Solar Expert Posts: 123 ✭✭
    john p wrote: »