Fake out Grid Tie

CJW8
CJW8 Registered Users Posts: 23
I have 8 KW of solar panels on my roof with a Sunny Boy SMA 7000 inverter and I am on grid tie. As per design, if the grid goes down my inverter shuts down. I understand the safety implications if why this happens.

Just for discussion, I was thinking worst case scenario, such as a total grid shutdown due to natural or manmade disaster where grid power could be lost for anywhere from weeks to forever.

Would it be possible to fake out my inverter with either a 240 volt generator or a battery bank with 240 volt inverter in order to get whatever power my panels produce during the daylight hours.

I am not suggesting I would or anyone should ever do this but desperate times sometimes call for desperate measures. I am an Industrial Instrument and Electrical Technician by trade and work on 24 volt process controls all the way up to 11KV power systems. I fully understand the danger of back feeding the grid when it is down.

Any idea how a 5kw generator would behave if it were the "grid" providing the 240 v sense voltage for the inverter? Might it work as long as my demand didn't exceed the generator maximum output plus the production of the solar system at the moment?

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Fake out Grid Tie

You can setup a Grid Tied inverter to "back feed" an AC sine wave off-grid inverter--That is called AC coupled.

There are systems like this Sunny Island 5048U 5000 Watt Battery Based one that is setup to setup a local AC grid with solar, generator, etc. power modules all on the AC off grid "mains".

And, the Xantrex (Schneider) XW Hybrid Inverter with the latest firmware is rumored to be setup for interfacing with pure grid tied inverters too (no released information on that function yet that I have seen--but I have not been watching that closely either).