So, my panels will be coming this week...

Temu
Temu Registered Users Posts: 8
I have ordered a pallet (21) of Suntech 270 STP, 24v panels. This was a group purchase, I'll be using 4 in my off-grid (cabin) application with a bank of 12 Trojan L16, Hi Caps.

I am looking at this invertor:

Outback Power Off Grid Inverter Charger 3500W 24VDC VFX3524

And this controller:

Outback FM-80 Charge Controller MPPT The FLEXmax

Do you think this is a good combination with the panels and set-up I have?

VERY much a newbie here, so please be easy on me!

Thanks!

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: So, my panels will be coming this week...
    Temu wrote: »
    I have ordered a pallet (21) of Suntech 270 STP, 24v panels. This was a group purchase, I'll be using 4 in my off-grid (cabin) application with a bank of 12 Trojan L16, Hi Caps.

I am looking at this invertor:

Outback Power Off Grid Inverter Charger 3500W 24VDC VFX3524

And this controller:

Outback FM-80 Charge Controller MPPT The FLEXmax

Do you think this is a good combination with the panels and set-up I have?

VERY much a newbie here, so please be easy on me!

Thanks!

270 x 4 =1080w @28V = 38amps DC, so a 80A charger will barely get warm.

What will your battery bank of 12 L-16 end up with for total bank capacity ?
    3 strings of 4 series batteries ?
    You may have too much battery for your PV
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar