Ground mount 650 ft. wire run - planning for future expansion

I'm a noob. Having a 4kw ground mount system installed. It is 650 ft. from
Panels (2 strings of 9 panels) and inverter to the house. My understanding from installer is that if I go to 8kw or 12 kw in future, I just run more wire (assuming I ensure conduit size allows for more wire). Other possibility is to put extra wire in the conduit now - extra expense now but I'm thinking wire cost may soar in near future. Appreciate any comments.

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Ground mount 650 ft. wire run - planning for future expansion

It's tough to pull wire in a condouit with wire in it allready. I'd lay an extra conduit in the ground (if it's not too late).

Or size wire NOW to handle future amps, or will these be split to different inverters?

Check into the max size you can gridtie, my area it's 10KW limit per meter drop.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• solarvic
    solarvic Solar Expert Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭✭