solar battery restoration

leaf
leaf Solar Expert Posts: 37 ✭✭✭
Hey everyone, I'm a newbie to the forum. I'm not really a newbie to solar but I'll probably seem like one after this post ;-)

I use a 12V solar panel, controller and deep cycle battery system in my RV (water pump, lights, laptop, stereo, that kind of thing). I seem to have a knack for wrecking batteries though. The latest one is that I fried the controller by shorting something out when I was rewiring a switch. I disconnected the panel and the controller and battery from each other, and then connected the battery to a charger on mains power (240V where I live).

The charger output is for 12V batteries so I assumed this was ok, and I checked on the battery for the first few days and it was fine. But some time later (a week or so?) I noticed the charge had crept up and when I looked at the battery it was fizzing, leaking and definitely over charged. I disconnected it and it's been sitting for a month now.

What I need to know is:

- what's the best way to determine the relative health of the battery now?

- are there any other things apart from cleaning and topping up the water that I can do to restore the battery?

- was the leaking and fizzing caused by the battery charger, or is it more likely I damaged the battery with the short that took out the controller? (I've charged a failing battery from the mains powered charger and not had it fizz before).

tia,
Leaf.

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: solar battery restoration
    leaf wrote: »

- was the leaking and fizzing caused by the battery charger, or is it more likely I damaged the battery with the short that took out the controller? (I've charged a failing battery from the mains powered charger and not had it fizz before).

tia,
    Leaf.