Solar Refrigerator

Holling
Holling Registered Users Posts: 7
Hi all,
I'm a total noob looking for some advise. My daughter is an insulin dependent diabetic. Insulin needs to be stored in a refrigerator or it will go bad due to warm temperatures. A loss of electricity for a few days in the summer (Phoenix) would be deadly for her. I want to put up a solar system to run a small refrigerator but I do not know where to start.
I'm looking for an efficient refrigerator along with what ever it will take to run it.
Thank you for your input.
Holling

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Solar Refrigerator

If there will be somebody at home for somebody to "light up" the propane fridge and a place to store a couple 20lb tanks--You might look at a propane powered refrigerator (wrecked RV, or there are even some portable 2/3 way powered ones).

Otherwise, a small chest freezer converted with a refrigerator temp controller would be a good option. About 1/2 to 1/4 the Watt*Hours per day as any other "Upright" refrigerator.

Once you figure out your loads (a Kill-a-Watt meter is great for AC loads around the home)--then we can get into the details to design the off-grid system.

For an "emergency" power supply--a solar PV system + charge controller + battery bank + inverter + backup genset (for bad weather/winter time) is usually not a cheap solution for a 1 week outage. (Remember the batteries will need to be replaced every 4-8 years or so).

The propane powered fridge or even a small backup genset + fridge may be a better option.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭