Ideal PV array voltage

Options
randall_l
randall_l Registered Users Posts: 6
Hi folks.

I'm just beginning my journey towards solar enlightenment, so please excuse my ignorance.

So far, I've learned that most 12V systems use 19V or higher panels, and use the charge controller to charge a 12V bank of batteries. However, I haven't been able to find what the ideal input-voltage to the charge controller should be for 24V or 48V battery banks.

This is where all you solar gurus come in...

Is there a website, formula or table to tell me what the ideal PV array voltage is for 24V or more battery banks? Does it even matter with a decent charge controller?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,440 admin
    Options
    Re: Ideal PV array voltage

The minimum charging voltage for a 12 volt battery is around 14.4 volts (15+ volts for equalization). Allow for 1-2 volts drop across the controller and another bit for wire drop. Plus add for the fact that hot solar panel's drop their output voltage--and you are pretty near needing ~17+ volts minimum from the solar panel to properly charge a 12 volt battery bank. The loaded "optimum power voltage" from a solar panel:
    • Pmp=Power at max power point
    • Vmp=Voltage maximum power
    • Imp=Current maximum power
    • Pmp=Vmp*Imp
    For a 24 volt battery bank, 2x the battery voltage (~28.8 volts + 3 volts for drops > 31.8 volts Vmp). And so on...

Now, things get a bit more complex. There are simple PWM controllers (Pulse Width Modulation)... They are nothing more than a controller flipping on and off a switch from a few times a second to >10,000 times a second. Same as you turning on and off a switch to charge a battery with the "optimum" current by changing the duty cycle -- The more "on time" (% on), the more average current.

A PWM controller works by simply having Vmp>Vbatt-charging + Vdrops