Solar/submersible pump for pond waterfall - how to plan capacity

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hi,

As a complete newbie to solar pumps, I would like to be able to confidently plan the size and capacity of the submersible pump and solar panel I will need for my pond/waterfall.

My initial measurements are:
- pond size - 5ft x 6ft x 18"
- there is already a slope next to the pond - where I will build the waterfall
- the height of the waterfall source above the pond - 6ft
- length of the waterfall - 18ft

My initial questions are:
- how many gallons per hour should I design for?
- what wattage spec should I look for for the submersible pump? It has to lift the water 6ft.
- what size solar panel will I need?
- what recommendations do you have for manufacturers of pumps/solar panels?
- should I consider the pump and solar panel separately, or buy a kit?
- what questions have I not thought of here?

I look forward to your suggestions.

Thanks

Colin Goldberg

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Solar/submersible pump for pond waterfall - how to plan capacity

Coling,

Do you need off-grid battery powered solar, or just want to experiment / not dig a trench for a 100' of 120/240 VAC buried cable to the pond?

In general, off-grid solar power is quite expensive... On the order of $1-$2+ per kWhr--compared to $0.10-$0.20 per kWH for most people in the US.

Because solar is so expensive, we recommend conservation and high efficiency to reduce the power needs.

Also, there is a big cost to add a battery bank (charge controller, battery bank, replacement battery bank every 3-8 years or so, more solar panels because of battery/charge controller losses, etc.). Add a generator for backup power (especially during the winter) and you have even more costs (and noise/fumes/fuel storage issues, etc.).