Newbie Putting in Stand Alone System: MPPT Controller, Other Questions

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Please be patient with me -- although my husband has an electronics and electrical background (24 years in electronic maintenance with a major hospital, plus several years installing computer cabling, some HVAC experience, plus several years as the electrical dept head at a large Home Depot store), he has never done anything with solar up till now. He's also a licensed ham radio operator, and has built his own ham radio station.

We are retired now, and have a 10 acre farmette where we grow alot of organic vegetables, a peach orchard, a berry patch (strawberries, raspberries and blueberries) and a small chicken operation (13 birds, for eggs and composted manure).

I have no electrical experience, though I do have a tech no-code ham radio license myself. But I am the person who is most comfortable with the internet, hence it is me who posts to forums like this.

Anyway, we're wanting to put in some solar panels to run the lights and fans out at the chicken house. There will be two or three fans on the system, and six 4-foot long T-8 florescent tubes to run off of the panels.

My BIL is giving us two 190 watt solar panels as a retirement gift. They are supposed to be on the way to us as I write this. I don't know anything about them, other than they are 190 watts each, of the polycrystalline kind.

We already have a 2000 watt inverter, a 750 watt inverter and a deep cycle battery. I can get the specs on the battery if it helps.

Anyway, we have several questions and hoping that somebody here might be able to help us plan this all out:

1, What is the best MPPT controller to buy for this system? My husband is not really experienced with solar operations, and he would prefer something that did not require an expert to set up and operate. The more "plug and play" the controller is, the better, to quote my husband.