Canadian PV code requirments

I can't find anywhere.
Max allowable PV Isc and Vsc
Disconnect placement (Beside meter?, Conduit below 8 Ft? Standard service head with drip loop)
Is it permissable to run down the middle of the house in rigid conduit?(previous Q may answer this one).

Yes I am new at Alt E So school me up.

I am electrically inclined so it won't be electricity 101. I completely rewired my house and passed the final inspection a few months back with only a couple minor issues.

Comments

• crewzer
    crewzer Registered Users, Solar Expert Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Canadian PV code requirments

Topper,

The Canadian Electrical Code Section 50 covers Solar RE systems, and you may also want to check other Sections (i.e., 84) as well as provincial / territorial supplements.

For design and compliance purposes, the PV source circuit "Voltage Rating" is defined as the array's STC Voc x 125%. Unlike the U.S. NEC Article 690.7, there is no graduated low-temperature multiplier for STC Voc; it's just 125%, period. However, a draft proposal has been submitted to modify this section of the CEC and bring it more or less in line with the NEC.

The "Current Rating" is defined as the array's STC Isc x 125%.

Here's a link to an old CanSIA document. It may get you started in the right direction.

HTH,
    Jim / crewzer
  • topper
    topper Solar Expert Posts: 113 ✭✭

Found a bunch in section 50 and associated refences since my original post. I was not sure if CEC had max Isc limitations of 47A per array such as the NEC has. Not that I would want to exceed 45-50A given most MPPT's limitations of 60A.
    My problem now is in grounding/bonding. It seems that each inspector has a different view on proper grounding.
    I have talked to 3 inspectors and each has given me a different set of requirements. Looks like Saskpower has to get their poop in a group. I want to get something rolling by early fall.