Repair of a solar controller

joeaksa
joeaksa Solar Expert Posts: 39
I purchased a Morningstar TS-45 from our host about six months ago. Its now working funny, with the flashing lights going all over the place.

Contacted Morningstar and they really do not seem like they want to accept returns, period. Finally after several months of emails back and forth (I travel for a living so when I email them and it takes a week for a return, I am already back out on the road and it takes me a week to get back to them) with him trying to diagnose all the different possible problems and I finally talk one rep saying that he will give me a RMA number. Course that was last week and he has not gotten back to me yet... Grrr.

While poking around the market here in Phoenix I found a used TS-60 that I got for a reasonable price. We used it on a different set of panels and batteries that we have powering a piece of land in the boonies. It started acting up so we pulled it off. Now I have two TS controllers that are not working...

I have no idea how old this controller is, does not matter. Its not working right and need to get it serviced.

Well ladies and gents, Morningstar does not service anything, its not worth their time or so the rep told me. When a used but in warranty unit comes into the facility they just replace it. No tech's repair anything, evidently its tossed into a bin and who knows what happens to it. They will not even talk with me about repair...

Does anyone know of any facilities that repair controllers like this? Is it worth doing? Hate to lose the TS-60 and replacing it is not easily in my means.

Thx,

Joe

PS Not really happy with the Morningstar company right now and needless to say may not replace the 60 watt unit with an identical unit. Any suggestions for an affordable 45-60 watt controller that its makers WILL service if there are any hassles?

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Repair of a solar controller