McTrumpy: T-105 and help with small off-grid system

Mctrumpy
Mctrumpy Registered Users Posts: 14
I am very new to all of this as well and I am learning alot just reading in this forum. Are the Trojan T-105's the 6 volt 225 AH batteries you are talking about or does Trojan make a T-105 12 volt?

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: am I even close

T 105''s are 6 volt batteries.

Tony
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Mctrumpy wrote: »
    I am very new to all of this as well and I am learning alot just reading in this forum. Are the Trojan T-105's the 6 volt 225 AH batteries you are talking about or does Trojan make a T-105 12 volt?

They're the 6V. But when you put two in series you get 225 Amp/hrs @ 12 Volts.
    Great value in a battery, those. :D
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

I believe the T-105 is only 6 volt size... However, there are several versions (with different ratings).

Full Trojan Product Line PDF (?)

The L16 battery is available in both 2 volt and 6 volt battery configurations.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • Mctrumpy

Ok, I understand now. The T-105's are wired in series. So, when you are calculating the amount of amps you need to fully charge the batteries, do you take the total amp per hour of the entire battery bank, or just the amp hour rating of the batteries you will be using?
  • BB.

When you place cells in series, the voltage adds.

When you place cells in parallel, the current adds.

When you place cells in series/parallel, then both current and voltage will add (based on actual configuration).

Note, there is no advantage to power with two batteries in series vs in parallel... Power = Voltage * Current.... So when you put two batteries in series, the voltage doubles and the Power doubles.