XW6048 semi off grid

2»

Comments

• yellowhead
    yellowhead Registered Users Posts: 17 ✭✭
    Re: XW6048 semi off grid
    BB. wrote: »
    Simon,

I think what you are doing is cool! :D (yea--I am an engineer, want to make something of it? :p;))

If the XW AC2/AC1 works well with your long power run--I think that this will be popular with the folks that are at the edges of the grid.

Of course--there is always that guy which will have lots of hard won knowledge from being first.

Best of luck and skill.
    -Bill

Hey Bill. Thanks for the support. I am engineer too (software rather than hardware though). I don't mind being first through these hoops if it meets my needs. I do think the XW is a neat bit of kit. I will of course have to hook something up to Xanbus to let me monitor all this :roll:

The biggest challenge for me right now is deciding how on grid to be. With #6 I definitely need inverter/battery support. But with 1/0 I'm getting close to a usable grid only service (may not a full 60A but certainly 30+). Of course the cable costs a lot more but the trenching and pole service probably cost about the same. If you factor in the inverter/battery cost the two solutions aren't that far apart. Despite that at heart I want to be as grid independent as possible so I think the inverter solution is the way I'll go.

Sure I get the joys of flooded lead acid battery maintenance but in return I can survive a 24 hour grid outage on batteries alone and if I have to run a generator after that it will be at an efficient load point. In addition if grid power gets real expensive I can easily add some solar PV and if smart/time of day metering ever makes it to my part of the world I can store grid power when its cheap and run on batteries when its not. Lots of options ...

Cheers,

Simon.
  • RCinFLA
    RCinFLA Solar Expert Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭✭
    yellowhead wrote: »