batt bank losing voltage-not running anything?

apexcarl
apexcarl Registered Users Posts: 7
Hi, Im a newbie, with 2 small (probably stupid) questions..i have 6 us-l16hc 6 volt batteries hooked up in series/parrallel to get a 12 volt bank...they are rated @ 420 amphours each...so running at 12 volts do i have 2520 amphours or 1260 amphours?
also, my voltage drops during the night, 1-2 volts, even when the inverter is turned off..? im using a sunforce 12v 30 amp charge controller.. fed by 4 sharp 123 watt panels on da roof...should be about 500 watts (30 amps) supply. is the voltage drop normal? or do i have a batt issue?

Comments

• RCinFLA
    RCinFLA Solar Expert Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: batt bank losing voltage-not running anything?

Two six volt L16, 420 A-H batteries in series yields twelve volts at 420 A-H.

For your three strings you have 3 X 420 A-H's or 1260 A-H.

The voltage drop depends on what your starting point reference is.

With no load, the battery equilibrium state should be about 12.7 vdc.
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

I suspect your batteries may be damaged due to chronic under-charging.

Here's why:

4 @ 123 Watts = 492 * 80% efficiency = 394 Watts usable / 14.2 Volts charging = 27.7 Amps maximum.
    That's enough to keep 550 Amp/hrs of battery 'happily' charged; i.e. reduce sulphation to a minimum and get the electrolyte stirred. For 1260 Amp/hrs it is woefully inadequate.

This is why I say charging batteries is more than just replacing the 'used' Amp/hrs. It is more important to get the current to acceptable levels (5%-13%). Generally if you can achieve that then replacing the Amp/hrs is easy.
  • 1965GMC
    1965GMC Registered Users Posts: 8