Relays

Options
Need some help here. My plan is to purchase a Victron BMV-600. This battery monitor has a "Discharge Floor" setting, where you can set a limit to the depth of discharge of your battery, and once that level is met, the monitor will activate a relay.

My question for you all (being that I am not an electrician) is could I use this feature to switch my Exeltech XP1100 inverter off via a relay? If so, how do I know what size or type of relay to use? I have no prior experience of working with relays, so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• RCinFLA
    RCinFLA Solar Expert Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Relays

Exeltech XP1100 has a remote on-off switch. Use it to turn off inverter.
    "REMOTE” connection is on the barrier terminal strip located under the Rear Cover.

Putting a relay in a high current battery line should be avoided as it would require a very large contactor to keep the contact resistance low. Any relay with that capability would likely draw 5 watts or more for its coil.
  • czyhorse
    czyhorse Solar Expert Posts: 42 ✭✭
    Options

That was my thought...utilizing the remote on/off on the back of the inverter. Can I use a relay in this situation? Any ideas on what type/size?

I'm not understanding your second comment about putting a relay in a high current battery line (do you mean a relay in the + or - leads from the battery?)
  • RCinFLA
    RCinFLA Solar Expert Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭✭
    Options

It's a low voltage, low current control line. The relay in battery monitor can run it directly.
  • dwh
    dwh Solar Expert Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭
    Options
    czyhorse wrote: »
    That was my thought...utilizing the remote on/off on the back of the inverter. Can I use a relay in this situation? Any ideas on what type/size?

I'm not understanding your second comment about putting a relay in a high current battery line (do you mean a relay in the + or - leads from the battery?)