Solar Charging Set-up Questions

Options
I am running a fishing boat with live well, electric anchor winch, CD player and electric trolling motor. I am using three deep cycle batteries, one dedicated to starting the 70hp motor and a fish finder and the other two running the items listed above.

I do not have ready access to electric plug-ins, although I do have a 12v battery charger mounted on board for when the opportunity presents itself. The two batteries used to run the units listed above are linked in parallel configuration (12V).

I do have two Uni-SolarUSF-11 Flexible Solar Panels that I want to use to charge the linked batteries. I am thinking that I should be able to link the two panels, connect them to a controller and connect to one battery (because the batteries are in parallel configuration, both batteries should charge, I think).

I am new to this and despite reading as much as I can, I have a couple of questions and requests:

1. where do you purchase the hardware to link solar panels-do they have to be from Uni-Solar or are they standard accessories?

2. Would I be better to keep the batteries separate and hook up the panels to each one separately?

3. Would a SunGuard 4.5 amp solar charge controller be appropriate as a controller in either situation (batteries in parallel or separated?). If not, can you suggest a unit that would be appropriate and not break the bank?

4. Would one 11W solar panel do the job of charging these batteries between fishing trips?...I may fish two or three days in a row or every third day on just on the weekend. That's why I think I would require more charging power.

5. If this was your situation, what would you do given this information?

I appreciate your assistance - I am green in working with this and would certainly be grateful for some responses.

Thanks, BillofSoo

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Solar Charging Set-up Questions