Help estimating the amount of water from a solar powered well

azrc
azrc Solar Expert Posts: 43
Hi, other than minor help with my neighbor's generator powered well, I have no experience with pumps or water...

I'd like to know if anyone can give me any real world experience with what types of flowrates with a solar pumping station. Right now, my neighbor can get about 12 gal/min from ~320' well and a 1.5HP or 2HP. They are not sure about the pump size or the depth, but that number is in line with what others have told me in the area.

I've looked at the 2SQF-11, but depending on which chart I look at this may or may not be suitable. The other possibilities are 6SQF-2 and 3SQF-3. I can go up to ~2KW of panels. The area gets about 6.8hours/sun/day

My other pumping problem is for another well at 140'. Thinking something like 16SQF-10 or 25SQF-7 at similar conditions (~6-7hrs/day).

I would like to get the maximum amount of water per day through each system (for irrigation).

Thanks for any information.

edit: These are 100% off grid with no chance of grid becoming available and also I'd like to do this without generators as that is not a viable option either.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Help estimating the amount of water from a solar powered well

I would be starting with the pump curves too... Perhaps you are at the point where you need to talk with a supplier or two of the pump systems themselves.

NAWS (Northern Arizona Wind & Sun--Our host) I am sure has lots of experience with wells... And perhaps a local well guy in your area that has work with solar powered pumps would be a help too...

Do you have any idea of how much sand is in the well--that can affect your pump selection too.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • azrc
    BB. wrote: »
    Do you have any idea of how much sand is in the well--that can affect your pump selection too.