Any and all feedback greatly appreciated

Options
Hi my name is Jeff (hence the screen name) and I’m a solar noob.

Sorry for the long post, I just wanted to try to present as much info as possible.

Here's the story: I purchased some property in the Sierra Nevada foothills that features a 3 acre bass/sunfish pond. Eventually I am going to build a retirement home on the property and escape the mad city life. (I know another urban refugee). When I build the home I am going to use either a grid tied or off grid solar system. I am still in the process of discussing that with solar professionals - - that’s way too large of a project for this bean counter to muck with.

But back to the issue at hand – the pond. I have determined that I need to aerate the pond so I have been looking into alternatives. At this point an AC power line is not an option because of the cost. So I have two choices a windmill aerator or a solar power aerator. The windmill aerator is not really relevant to this forum so I won’t get into a discussion about that here. Sorry to bore you with all of this detail – I’m just trying to provide some background info. I have read lots (and I do mean lots) of info regarding solar energy and downloaded a PV system calculator (excel spreadsheet) and manual spreadsheets and calculated the system requirements using both. Unless I’m a total solar moron (which is a very plausible possibility) I have calculated the system cost to be over $6,000 YIKES.