Need help to specify solar panel wires for new RV installation

Rodeworthy
Rodeworthy Registered Users Posts: 7 ✭✭✭
Hi, I am new to this board.  I have limited knowledge of RV solar energy technology but I intend to learn.  In the meantime, I do have a rather urgent need to determine the size and characteristic of the wire pair that should be used from the solar panels to the battery area.

I have on order a new fifth wheel trailer that will be equipped with an Xantrex RS3000 inverter and 4 Interstate U2200 Workaholic 6V batteries.  The manufacturer as part of its standard package provides solar prep wiring to the roof from the battery box area.  I have learned this wire pair is #10 wire.  I do not know the designation of the wire other than the size.  I questioned whether that gauge wire will be sufficient to handle my future needs when I eventually install solar panels and other related hardware.  The manufacturer has agreed to install whatever wire pair I deem suitable and can supply.  It would be very advantageous to have this wire pair installed during the construction of the trailer especially since the wires may be heavy and inflexible.  The manufacturer has requested 30 feet of each colour.

I have not yet determined what my energy consumption will be and final details of my solar installation.  I envision starting with two 120 or 130 Watt panels with the provision to add a third if it becomes necessary.  A suitable controller will have to be selected, preferably a MPPT type.  I have time to determine all the hardware required for this project including the panels but I need a suitable pair of wires routed now during the imminent construction phase.

Somewhere along the line #6 wire was suggested for the project.

First I need to know if #10 wire as specified by the manufacturer is indeed inadequate for the equipment stated above.  If it is inadequate what gauge and wire type would you suggest would efficiently support up to three 130W panels?