Solar Wifi Station

Options
Hi,
I am a newbie here.. :) Hopefully someone will be able to answer my questions. Im putting in a wireless internet antenna on a hill on my property so that I can get internet where I am. I live in central Texas. The antenna radio pulls around 1 amp or less and the point to point wireless antenna / radio pulls about the same, so Im going with a 3 amps just to be safe.

What would be the appropriate solar panel wattage that I would need?
What batteries and other equipment/parts would I need?

I calculated that I would be on the internet approx. 6-8 hours a day especially in the evening and night and on the weekends probably 8 hours a day. I have looked all over for someone that has done something similar and couldnt find very much. Any help would be appreciated!

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Solar Wifi Station

1) how do you instruct the remote radio, when to be on, and off, or do you want to run it 24/7 ?
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options

Armed101,

First we need to know your loads... You said 3 amps--I am going to guess that is at 12 VDC.

You said you want to use it 8 hours per day... You can use a digital timer to turn off the power, or possibly some remote control.