Need advice on building a simple solar battery backup system

Likesspace
Likesspace Registered Users Posts: 5
Hi guys....
First of all, I'm glad to be a part of this forum.
A few years ago we added solar pool heating panels at our home and it has certainly made me a beliver in the power of solar energy.
As for my question today.....
I have a home weather station that uses a 12 volt DC aspirated fan system for the temperature system.
I am currently running this system by plugging a 12 volt DC converter into a 115 volt AC outlet, but I'd like to switch the system over to solar if possible.
What I want to do is to use a 12 volt solar panel to charge rechargeable batteries that will supply 12 volts to the fan when solar energy is not available.
The design of this weather system needs 24 hours of energy available to operate properly.
Please understand that I am totally new to solar usage other than our pool heater, so please speak to me in clear and understandable language.
In short, I need a panel that will charge rechargeable batteries that will put out 12 volts of power. I also need this to be a "self switching system" meaning that when the sun is not shining the batteries will automatically kick in.
If anyone can tell me the items I will need to build a DIY kit or a ready made commercial system I would really appreciate it.
Thanks in advance,
Dave

Comments

• dwh
    dwh Solar Expert Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭
    Re: Need advice on building a simple solar battery backup system

Looks like this:

PV (solar panel) -> charge controller -> battery -> inverter (for 120v loads, omit for 12v loads)

Each of the "->" represent wire runs and each run needs fuse protection.

Figure out how many watts per day you need, and how many hours of *full, direct sunlight* (PVs put out almost nothing without full direct sunlight) per day.

Say you need 500 watts/day and you figure you can get 5 hours of full direct sunlight. Then you would need a 100w solar panel.