Solar light keep very short period

Options
kalee
kalee Registered Users, Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2
Hi there,

I am new to setup solar system.
I have problem on my solar light.
The problem :  I use a very simple LED table lamp for reading + 12 V  battery + solar panel + solar controller (a cheap one USD10) in my outdoor shed.  But the LED lamp can last just for 1-2 hours and then off even the battery is fully charged. 

what happen to my solar system ?  is it happen on the cheap solar controller?

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Sounds like your battery has lost capacity.
    How long have you used this setup and what type of chemistry/battery do you have? Lithium, SLA (sealed lead acid), flooded lead acid...
    Home system 4000 watt (Evergreen) array standing, with 2 Midnite Classic Lites,  Midnite E-panel, Magnum MS4024, Prosine 1800(now backup) and Exeltech 1100(former backup...lol), 660 ah 24v Forklift battery(now 10 years old). Off grid for 20 years (if I include 8 months on a bicycle).
    - Assorted other systems, pieces and to many panels in the closet to not do more projects.
  • kalee
    kalee Registered Users, Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2
    Options
    SLA battery. It should be ok. Anyway,  I try to charge it full again and if it happens again.
  • littleharbor2
    littleharbor2 Solar Expert Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Do you have the light connected to the load terminals on the charge controller? If so you probably have the timer set to a couple hours. You should be able to adjust for "on 24 hours" and switch the light on/off as needed.

2.1 Kw Suntech 175 mono, Classic 200, Trace SW 4024 ( 15 years old  but brand new out of sealed factory box Jan. 2015), Bogart Tri-metric,  460 Ah. 24 volt LiFePo4 battery bank. Plenty of Baja Sea of Cortez sunshine.

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,448 admin
    Options