Solar Suitcase

Options
Roo19
Roo19 Registered Users, Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2
Total Solar and RV beginner here with what I hope isn't an unsolvable problem.

RV is wired with 2X 6V Golf Cart batteries in series, which has been working nicely.  We purchased a 120Watt Eco Worthy Solar Suitcase to keep us topped up as most of our camping will be without hookups.

My understanding was that I could connect the alligator clips to the positive terminal on one battery, and the negative on the other, and that would get us charging.  When I connect the charge controller to the battery in this way... nothing.

I've tried it on the 12V battery we replaced with the 2 6V, and it works fine, as well as charging off the USB ports built into the controller.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 2020 #2
    Options
    Just a guess, did you hook up the battery first and then the solar panels? Typically the charge controller needs to know the system voltage first, I think that will work on both 12 and 24 volt systems.

The system is polarized, you will want to connect the charge controller to battery + to + and neg to neg.

A couple other things, 120 watts is VERY minimal charging for 2 golf cart batteries, perhaps 6 amps into 220 amp storage or < 3%. The additional capacity may have you running increasingly lower recharging and eventually destroying your battery. Even for weekend use I'd shoot for 5-6%, manufacturers typically want you to have 10%.

...also clips offer a very poor connection, I'd suggest replacing with some ring type connectors. You could replace the nuts on your battery post with 'wing nuts' if you need fast connecting/disconnecting.