Advice on grid design for sunsaver mppt 15 w/ multiple panels

Options
northwoods
northwoods Registered Users Posts: 6 ✭✭
Hi everyone, I am new to solar design and had a couple questions I was hoping you could help with! I'm setting up a solar system off grid this summer and am trying to figure out the best design to move forward with.

First, power requirements: for the past few years I have been running a single AGM battery that I would take home and charge - I would only need two charges per season because I only have a handful of LED lights. Going forward I would like a 12v freezer, the ability to charge USB devices and a bit more lighting. It's not a huge draw to be honest, we like it to be rustic out there in the woods. But it would be nice to have ice and meat during longer summer stays. This is the freezer I am looking at (or similar in size - Total Watt HR Draw: 396 Wh/24 hrs)

Hardware: I was able to get a good price on some nice solar parts from a decommissioned system. I have 8 100w 12v panels and 4 sunsaver mppt 15 controllers to work with. I also have some AGM batteries which were used and in various states of charge however I put them through a couple "recondition" cycles at home using a ctek mus 4.3 charger. I know it's not ideal to buy first and design later but the deal was too good to pass up.

Environment: I would prefer not to cut trees down so the panels will be in partial sun only. So I'm trying to determine the best grid design to maximize charging capacity with imperfect solar exposure. The cabin is seasonal so I don't need to worry about winter at all really, and in spring and fall the freezer is less important to maintain power to.

I have three main questions: