How does battery voltage translate to watts stored? Does it?

Options
s3w47m88
s3w47m88 Registered Users Posts: 7 ✭✭
edited February 2020 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
The Problem
I'm unclear about my readings. Specifically how much energy is stored in my batteries.

The Context
I'm new to solar, trying to power and office space off grid. But I successfully setup my Renogy kit and am operating.

The Setup
- 2 x Renogy 100 Watt Panels - will add more.
- 2 x Titan T105 6V batteris in series. 225Ah @ 20hr or 185@5
- 20amp Renogy Rover Elite 20A MPPT Solar Charge Controller
- Renogy 3000 Watt Inverter.
- Currently, I only have some LED lights plugged in.

The Confusion
- I want to have a real time reading of how much energy, in watts, is stored in my batteries.
- I want to measure how much is being drawn in real time.
- How much is being produced in each hour.
- How much is being produced each day.

I bought the Renogy solar controller get those readings. But I'm unclear about a few fundamentals.

My understanding is that a fully charged battery has 12.8 volts. And empty battery has 11.2. Going below that damages the battery. I can get this reading from the controller but what I don't understand is the equation and factors to translate that to KwH. The controller does tell me KwH but I don't really know what that is relative to.

For example, my reading is .8KwH. So is that 800 watts is stored? Or 800 x 24 hours?

Thank you!

Comments

• Marc Kurth
    Marc Kurth Solar Expert Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭✭
    edited February 2020 #2
    Options
    Battery voltage does not directly indicate watt-hours stored.
    "Standing" voltage measured at least 4 hours after charging or discharging can give you an idea of the battery charge level. BUT that is relative to its current condition. An old battery may show a "full voltage" but may have only 10% of its specified capacity. A new battery will show its "full voltage" and have 100% of its rated storage capacity.