Looking for advice

Options
i want to piece to a solar power system for roof top tent camping. My basic power needs will only be a Dometic fridge, coffee maker, charging Mavic pro drone batteries, and running LED camp light around the tent and awning.  I’m not sure of what wattage I should go with, I don’t want to cut myself short, and I don’t want overkill for tent camping.  I have a 3500 RAM truck with dual alternators and optima red tops, but I think it may be best to connect the inverter to one or two lithium 100ah batteries with solar for recharging.  I’ve been looking at Renogy, Aims, and Xantrex products.  I am thinking of either butting this in a portable case or mount in my trucks Leitner design pod storage boxes.  
I’m new to Roof top tenting and trying to get a feel of maybe what others power consumption is to I can start piecing together a system.    Are the brands I’m looking at quality or should I be looking elsewhere?  Footprint is important to me also, do to space limitations of cargo room for roof top tent camping. 

Comments

• Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    I'd start by checking the power consumption on the fridge.  Some can be surprisingly high.
    Off-grid.  
    Main daytime system ~4kw panels into 2xMNClassic150 370ah 48v bank 2xOutback 3548 inverter 120v + 240v autotransformer
    Night system ~1kw panels into 1xMNClassic150 700ah 12v bank morningstar 300w inverter
  • papab
    papab Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭
    Options
    Also, the power (Watts) & energy (kwh) to charge up the drone batteries.   If you have a cook stove, you're better off using that for the coffee.
  • jk6672
    jk6672 Registered Users Posts: 2
    Options
    It’s about 13.5 amps and 176w on a 110v outlet for about 1/2 an hour to charge three packs.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options